City Hall

The most imposing building on the Hauptmarkt (main market square) is the City Hall. After a devastating fire in 1403, it was rebuilt in the style of the high and late Gothic period. The Jakobskapelle (Chapel of St James) dating from the period 1473 to 1477 survives in its original state. The late Gothic triple-nave room is remarkable for its ribbed vaulting, for its Renaissance doorway, and for its murals completed in 1614.

The City Hall was given its neo-Gothic façade in 1866/67. The Zwickau city arms are boldly displayed above the main entrance. A two-year period of renovation and restoration came to a successful conclusion in 2011, since when the whole building has shone in renewed splendour.

During the Reformation, the city was governed by a council which, at a very early stage, showed itself to be sympathetic to these new ideas. Müntzer found his greatest advocate in Erasmus Stüler (also known as Stella) who served as alderman and mayor. Bürgermeister Hermann Mühlpfort was a close friend to Luther who preached to a crowd which was said to number 14,000 from a window in the City Hall on 1st May 1522.

Robert Schumann will have been a frequent visitor to the City Hall in the 19th century. The wife of Bürgermeister Ruppius was godmother to Robert Schumann and helped to bring him up for a two-and-a-half-year period between 1813 and 1815.

link to full size version of the image
link to full size version of the image
Rathaus, historisch
link to full size version of the image
  • Visitor Address

    Hauptmarkt 1
    08056 Zwickau

    Get in touch

    Phone Number: +49 375 830

Themennavigation Hauptnavigation Metanavigation Breadcrumb-Navigation Inhaltsbereich Suchfunktion

Kopfbereich

Zurück zur Startseite

Themen-Navigation

Inhaltsbereich

Rathaus

Das erste Adresse der Stadt ist das Rathaus am Hauptmarkt 1. Nach einem verheerenden Stadtbrand von 1403 wurde es im Stil der Hoch- und Spätgotik wieder aufgebaut. Aus dieser Zeit ist heute noch die 1473 bis 1477 erbaute Jakobskapelle im ursprünglichen Zustand erhalten. Der spätgotische dreijochige Raum mit Kreuzrippengewölbe und Renaissanceportal wurde 1614 ausgemalt.

Das Rathaus erhielt 1866/67 seine neogotische Fassade. Über dem Haupteingang ist das Zwickauer Stadtwappen in seiner großen Form zu sehen. Nach zwei-jähriger Sanierungs- und Umbauphase erstrahlt seit 2011 das gesamte Gebäude in neuem Glanz.

Während der Reformationszeit wurde die Stadt von einem Rat regiert, der schon früh den reformatorischen Ideen offen gegenüber stand. In Erasmus Stüler (genannt Stella), Bürgermeister und Ratsherr, fand Müntzer seinen größten Fürsprecher. Den Bürgermeister Hermann Mühlpfort verband eine enge Freundschaft zu Luther, der am 1. Mai 1522 aus einem der Rathausfenster vor über 10.000 Zuhörern predigte.

Im 19. Jahrhundert dürfte Robert Schumann regelmäßig im Rathaus zu Gast gewesen sein. Die Frau des damaligen Bürgermeisters Ruppius war Patin Robert Schumanns und zog den kleinen Robert ab 1813 zweieinhalb Jahre lang auf.

Fußzeile

zum BITV-Test
Letzte Änderung: 22.07.2016 | *eSignatur